Mail Us

info@cliniquesantevoyage.com

Call Us

855-582-2246

Meningococcal (Travel & Hajj)

Hajj and travel

The meningococcal vaccine is compulsory for the Hajj pilgrimage which takes place annually in Saudi Arabia.

  • The vaccine is mandatory to obtain a visa to enter Saudi Arabia
  • All pilgrims over the age of two must be vaccinated against certain diseases such as meningitis

 

In addition to being a requirement for the Hajj pilgrimage, the meningococcal vaccine is also strongly recommended for journeys in certain parts of Africa. All travelers should consult a travel health professional preferably six weeks before departure. It is Groupe Santé Voyages' mission to support the medical planning of your trip!

What is meningitis?

Meningitis is a serious infection of the thin membranes that surround the brain and spinal cord. It is most often caused by an infection (bacterial, viral or fungal). Meningococcal meningitis is associated with a high case fatality rate (up to 50% when untreated) and a high frequency (greater than 10%) of severe sequelae.

Different bacteria can cause meningitis. Neisseria meningitidis is the most likely to cause major outbreaks. There have been 12 serogroups of Neisseria meningitidis, 6 of which are known to cause epidemics (A, B, C, W135, X and Y). The geographic distribution and the epidemic potential vary from one serogroup to another.

Bacterial transmission occurs from person to person through droplets of respiratory or pharyngeal secretions. Close and prolonged contact (kissing, sneezing and coughing up close together), or promiscuity with an infected person (living in a dormitory, sharing cutlery or glasses) promotes the spread of the disease. The incubation period is an average of four days but it can be between 2 and 10 days.

Possible vaccines against meningitis (A, C, W135, X and Y): Ménactra, Nimenrix, Menvéo

Source: World Health Organization

en_GBEnglish

Écrivez-nous

info@cliniquesantevoyage.com

Appelez-nous

855-582-2246

Méningocoque (Voyage et Hajj)

Hajj et voyage

Le vaccin contre le méningocoque est obligatoire pour le pèlerinage du Hajj qui se déroule annuellement en Arabie Saoudite.

  • Le vaccin est obligatoire pour obtenir un visa pour entrer en Arabie Saoudite
  • Tous les pèlerins âgés de plus de deux ans doivent être vaccinés contre certaines maladies tel que la méningite

 

En plus d’être une exigence pour le pèlerinage du Hajj, le vaccin contre le méningocoque est également fortement recommendé pour les périples dans certaines régions d’Afrique. Tous les voyageurs devraient consulter un professionel en santé-voyage de préférence six semaines avant le départ. C’est la mission du Groupe Santé Voyage de vous accompagner dans la planification médicale de votre voyage!

Qu’est-ce que la méningite ?

La méningite est une grave infection des fines membranes qui enveloppent le cerveau et la moelle épinière. Elle est le plus souvent causée par une infection (bactérienne, virale ou fongique). La méningite à méningocoques est associée à un fort taux de létalité (jusqu’à 50% lorsqu’elle n’est pas traitée) et à une fréquence élevée (supérieure à 10%) des séquelles sévères.

Différentes bactéries peuvent causer une méningite. Neisseria meningitidis est la plus susceptible de provoquer des épidémies importantes. On a recensé 12 sérogroupes de Neisseria meningitidis, dont 6 sont connus pour provoquer des épidémies (A, B, C, W135, X et Y). La répartition géographique et le potentiel épidémique varient d’un sérogroupe à l’autre.

La transmission bactérienne s’opère de personne à personne par des gouttelettes de sécrétions respiratoires ou pharyngées. Un contact étroit et prolongé (baiser, éternuement et toux rapprochée), ou la promiscuité avec une personne infectée (vie en dortoir, mise en commun des couverts ou des verres) favorise la propagation de la maladie. La période d’incubation est en moyenne de quatre jours mais elle peut être comprise entre 2 et 10 jours.

Vaccins possibles contre la méningite (A,C, W135, X et Y): Ménactra, Nimenrix, Menvéo

Source: Organisation mondiale de la Santé

fr_CAFrench