Mail Us

info@cliniquesantevoyage.com

Call Us

855-582-2246

Human papillomavirus (HPV) infections

The human papillomavirus, or HPV, is one of the most common viruses in the world. In Canada, it is estimated that 70% of the population will be infected at least once in their lifetime with this type of virus. HPV infection is responsible for the most common sexually transmitted infection (STI) in Canada. The highest infection rates are found in people aged 15 to 29 years. The virus is spread during sex, even without penetration.

HPV can be transmitted by direct contact between the skin or mucous membrane of a person and the genitals of another person infected with HPV (vagina, vulva, cervix, penis, scrotum, anus ). Kissing or touching the genitals of an infected partner can eventually lead to the transmission of HPV which could infect another part of the body (eg, mouth, tongue, throat, larynx). Most people with HPV have no symptoms and can spread the virus without knowing it. There are many types of HPV, probably over 100. Some types cause vulvar warts or plantar warts. On the other hand, more than 30 types cause anogenital infections. Among these, some can cause precancerous lesions, cervical cancer and other genital cancers such as cancer of the penis or anus. They are called carcinogenic types. The most common in North America are types 16 and 18, which cause approximately 70% of cervical cancers. Other types of HPV can cause genital warts (or warts), such as types 6 and 11, which alone are responsible for over 90% of genital warts, but they rarely cause cancer. Genital warts can be bothersome and look unsightly and cause discomfort. Most people who are infected will recover from this infection. In others, especially when it is a carcinogenic type HPV like types 16 and 18, the infection may persist and slowly progress to stages of precancerous or cancerous lesions if not detected and treated. .

It is estimated that each year in Quebec 68,000 women will have to see a specialist following an abnormal screening, that approximately 325 women will develop cervical cancer and 80 of them will die from it. Currently, the fight against cervical cancer is essentially based on screening with a Pap test.

DIN: 02342227 (Cervarix) et 02283190 (Gardasil)
Source: Public Health Agency of Canada

en_GBEnglish

Infections par les virus du papillome humain (VPH)

Le virus du papillome humain, ou VPH, est l’un des virus les plus répandus dans le monde. Au Canada, on estime que 70 % de la population sera infectée au moins une fois au cours de sa vie par ce type de virus. L’infection par le VPH est responsable de l’infection transmissible sexuellement (ITS) la plus fréquente au Canada. Les taux d’infection les plus élevés se trouvent chez les personnes âgées de 15 à 29 ans. Le virus se transmet pendant les relations sexuelles, même sans pénétration.

En effet, le VPH peut se transmettre par contact direct entre la peau ou une muqueuse d’une personne et les organes génitaux d’une autre personne infectée par le VPH (vagin, vulve, col de l’utérus, pénis, scrotum, anus). Le fait d’embrasser ou de toucher les organes génitaux d’un partenaire infecté peut éventuellement mener à la transmission du VPH qui pourrait infecter une autre partie du corps (ex. : bouche, langue, gorge, larynx). La plupart des personnes infectées par le VPH ne présentent aucun symptôme et peuvent propager le virus sans le savoir. Il existe de nombreux types de VPH, probablement plus de 100. Certains types causent des verrues vulvaires ou des verrues plantaires. Par contre, plus de 30 types causent des infections anogénitales. Parmi ces derniers, certains peuvent causer des lésions précancéreuses, le cancer du col et d’autres cancers génitaux tels que le cancer du pénis ou de l’anus. On les appelle des types carcinogènes. Les plus fréquents en Amérique du Nord sont les types 16 et 18, qui sont la cause d’environ 70 % des cancers du col utérin. D’autres types de VPH peuvent causer des verrues génitales (ou condylomes), tels les types 6 et 11, responsables à eux seuls de plus de 90 % des verrues génitales, mais ils causent rarement le cancer. Les verrues génitales peuvent être incommodantes et ont un aspect disgracieux qui suscite la gêne. La plupart des personnes infectées guériront de cette infection. Chez d’autres, surtout lorsqu’il s’agit d’un VPH de type carcinogène comme les types 16 et 18, l’infection peut persister et évoluer lentement vers des stades de lésions précancéreuses ou cancéreuses si elles ne sont pas dépistées et traitées.

On estime que chaque année au Québec 68 000 femmes devront consulter un spécialiste à la suite d’un dépistage dont le résultat est anormal, qu’environ 325 femmes auront un cancer du col et que 80 d’entre elles en mourront. Actuellement, la lutte au cancer du col utérin est essentiellement fondée sur un dépistage par le test de Pap.

DIN: 02342227 (Cervarix) et 02283190 (Gardasil)
Source: Agence de la santé publique du Canada